Log in

Grant W. Farmer Memorial Scholarship Award

Download the Grant W. Farmer Memorial Scholarship Application Here

Grant W. Farmer was a gifted and committed public health researcher, teacher, community member, friend, and mentor.  He was a long time Caucus member, and served the caucus as Chair from 2012-2014, and as well as other executive committee roles.

Click here to read Grant's Obituary

The Grant W. Farmer Memorial Scholarship is an annual competitive award that supports, at least, one deserving undergraduate or graduate student to attend the American Public Health Association (APHA) Annual Meeting and Exposition. The award is inclusive of a $500 honorarium to support fees associated with conference registration and travel. 

Special thanks to Mr. Mertens for his continued support of The Caucus, and his commitment to continuing Grant's legacy through this Memorial Scholarship. 

Walter J. Lear Outstanding Student Research Award

The Caucus established the Walter J. Lear Outstanding Student Research Award to recognize exceptional work by students on LGBT-related issues. The award consists of a stipend and free caucus membership. All students who submit an abstract to the Caucus for consideration for the annual meeting are eligible for this award.

Walter J. Lear was one of the founders and a longtime chair of the Caucus. He founded the Caucus in 1975 and worked with APHA to inform them of our health issues and the need for research. Click here to read Walter's Obituary

Thanks to Carmine Novembre of Pfizer for support of the Walter Lear Student Award. Pfizer logo

About the Caucus

Since its founding in 1975, the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender (LGBT) Caucus has been an association of public health professionals committed to furthering LGBT issues within the American Public Health Association (APHA) and the field of public health at large. For more information about the LGBT Caucus, please see our Frequently Asked Questions.


Phillip Vaughan, Webmaster

Copyright © You can place your copyright information here.
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software